Friends for life

IMG_2042.JPG

I try to instill in my kids the desire to build friendships with their siblings.

IMG_1844.JPG

Currently Sweet Cheeks, Hallmark & Joyful are playing doctor and patient. Third is listening to an audiobook (his new favorite quiet activity).

I know different personalities interact better than others so I just encourage natural interaction and attempt to instill common courtesies and social skills.

IMG_1938.JPG

When I do want the kids to spend time together, I try to let them do something they both love. Like eating apples!

IMG_2100.JPG

Bonding over hard work is another way to deepen relationships. Have you ever trained for something? Didn’t you get close with your training buddy? (Introvert talking here, I trained alone but I did share a lot with other running friends.

The kids have a few chores to do throughout the week. Enter bonding over putting dishes away and dragging garbage bags out on the street.

IMG_1862.JPG

Dress up is another sure-fire way for the kids to play together. Whether it’s cowboys or ballerinas.

IMG_1854.JPG

I pray our kids treasure these built-in friendships. No matter where we go, we’ll always be living with these friends until adulthood.

I hope the hubs and I set a good example. He’s my best friend and I love to spend time with him. The more I interact with him and show emotions (laughing, excited, serious, etc) as the kids are present, the better it is for them to witness how to build a strong friendship.

IMG_2051.JPG

Leave a Reply

