Faux Sloppy Joes

IMG_1735.JPG

A week or two ago I made these faux sloppy joes and it actually was really tasty!

IMG_1725.JPG

I didn’t do anything radically different than the original recipe.

My oldest found some freshly baked bread at a local produce shop so we grabbed that and made it like a sub sandwich.

I added chopped up mushrooms and looking back I wish I had added some shredded veggies like zucchini and carrots.

IMG_1726.JPG

Also to entice the kids a bit more, I melted cheese over the bread.

IMG_1730.JPG

For the hubs & I, the sandwich included avocado and tomato slices.

IMG_1732.JPG

I served it with a side of roasted potatoes.

A couple thoughts here…if you didn’t want the bread, eat the sloppy sauce over potatoes…I did!

I have a fault of never reading the recipe thoroughly and as we are eating up our pantry staples before the big move, I accidentally made a double recipe.

So we had a lot of sloppy left! Enter football Saturday and vegetarian nachos!

IMG_1765.JPG

I never pretended for these to be a great meat-lovers alternative so it was never a fight for that title. Still it was healthy, tasty and had lots of variables that could be changed out (a love of mine is adding different toppings!).

IMG_1736.JPG

Do you ever make typical meat dishes vegetarian?

Leave a Reply

