Looking at the Bright Side

Looking at the bright side graphic

 

Today the kids and I made an impromptu visit to a local beach.

The weather was beautiful with blue skies and a light breeze.

We were headed home from our local MOPS meet

when we all commented how it would be fun to play at the beach.

IMG_4038

This mother could not deny these two a beach trip.

And because it was right around lunchtime it made sense!

No picnic, right before nap time, chores to do in the afternoon,

Sweet Cheeks without her blanket, could there ever be a better time?!

(Can you hear my sarcastic tone?)

IMG_4034

Even rolled up pants is better than no visit to the beach!

Grabbing our stashed small box of sand toys,

dropping our shoes in the car

and racing down to the beach

was very freeing.

As I sat on the beach and watched the kids dig in the sand,

throw rocks in the water,

spotting airplanes above,

and making new friends,

I knew it!

This is what memories are made of!

This is what memories are made of!

No matter what else happened today,

it was a good day.

We ended up spending an hour and a half there

though the agreed upon visit was suppose to last a mere 30 minutes.

My kids had found some fun playmates

and even the new friends’ mom and I struck up an enjoyable conversation.

IMG_4043

After beach humor

So I denied the chores my full attention

and said yes to all-natural vitamin D.

I gave up on the long quiet rest time

to relish the splashes and shrieks of joy

uttered from my children’s delightful mouths.

So today I looked on the bright side!

IMG_4004

Update: Tomato plants are in the ground! Only time will tell if there’s enough sun, good soil and good natured animals who will leave it for us!

One thought on “Looking at the Bright Side

  1. How FUN! And I bet these fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants kind of memories are the ones your littles will cherish the most. Good for you!

    PS: I’m hosting a contest/giveaway today. Hope you can jump in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

