5 Ways to Multitask like a Genie

I am not sure if this is a proud moment or a humble admission, but I like to multitask and seem to have found a way to manage life multitasking.

There’s always laundry to do, the hope of reading more of your book (see previous post), floors to be cleaned, and some calories to be burned.

how to multitask like a genie

Here’s 5 practical ways I carry out two or more tasks at once.

1. While I fold laundry, I will play swagbucks videos on my phone, earning me extra points and ultimately cash.

2. If I am already making food, I like to make extra. Growing up, my mom always doubled or tripled recipes. Most lunches were leftovers from the previous dinner and wow, I love leftovers! And especially if you are my kids, they will love you forever if you make extra cheese quesadillas! Or check out Money Saving Mom for this homemade ham and cheese pockets.

We like to switch up the combos with a pizza one, veggies and cheese, the tastes are endless!

IMG_3273

Extra quesadillas for another day!

3. Teach and guide your homeschooling child while your are working in the kitchen, making bread, flipping quesadillas, chopping vegetables as prep for dinner or washing dishes. Another neat aspect is The Third is able to use some of his newly acquired learning in real life situations. If i am kneading dough, he can help me divide it into thirds or sixths. If I am making egg quiche, he can help me count the eggs and ask about the origins of the eggs and why there’s a white part and yolk. He helped add 4 tablespoons of vinegar in the 1/2 cup of oil which made the base of our salad dressing thus he was able to see the differences in various measurements.

IMG_0855

Homemade Raw Cashew milk & Carrot, Cilantro, Celery & Granny Smith Juice

4. The more I am at home with the kids, the more I crave interactions with adults. When is was training for my half marathon, I would listen to podcasts while I ran. A few of my favorite podcasts are: How They Blog, God-centered Mom, The Splendid Table, Ravi Zacharias. Exercise + listening to adults use words with more than 6 letters=awesome!!! Or clean the house while the kids are asleep (yes I clean at 8pm at night, at least it’s quiet!) put on some headphones, grab your mop and listen to something encouraging!

On the days I clean with kids, one is usually strapped to me!

On the days I clean with kids, one is usually strapped to me!

5. Ok, when #4 doesn’t happen, do it with the kids. There’s very few days my kids don’t need to burn energy. Either include them in your exercise, ie. squat with your 20 lb baby (yes, Sweet Cheeks loves it when I squat with her), have a dance party (it’s amazing how tired you can get when you are jumping and twirling), or get outside and while the kids bike, you push the jogger and race them. While the kids catch up (I am assuming you are faster) do lunges. It’ll get your heart rate up.

IMG_2244

Post run/biking with the kids

Leave a Reply

