When Your Child Needs Extra Love

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things and endures all things.

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things and endures all things.

I love my children profoundly.
I love my children blindly.
I love my children through their mistakes.
I love my children despite my own inabilities.
I love my children.
But I love my children incompletely.

As a mother I admit the unthinkable, I can’t love my kids perfectly. Some days I see it clearly and others it’s masked. And yes, I easily feel defeated and worthless because I can’t love them the way I want to. And while it’s humbling, it’s also grounding. If I trust in myself to parent perfectly, then every failure will demoralize me and I will be living a lie. So I cast off the lie that I must be the perfect mother and by the grace of God be the best mother I can be.

Our three year old, Hallmark is a compassionate and loving kid, he feels deeply. These last few months, he’s repeatedly asked me to hold him. At the most random times, he’ll come to me and say, “I want you to hold me.” Yes, sometimes it’s when he’s messed up but other times it’s just because. Holding Hallmark makes him feel protected and desired, loved and remembered.

Do you have a child that needs extra love every now and then? These are a few of the ways that I am intentionally showing Hallmark love this week!

5 Ways to Love Your Child More

1. Learn his love language and fill up his love tank! He loves quality time, put that high on the priority list. If gifts are important, then even passing along one of your treasured items (whether it’s a necklace or a favorite baseball cap) will warm his or her heart!

2. Spend a few moments reminding him of how he is loved, by his parents, by his grandparents, by his friends, but most importantly by his heavenly Father. Remind him that no one can love like God can and He is always with us and desires for us to feel His love.

3. Share with him his birth story, tell details and funny moments that occurred. Show him pictures or keepsakes from the day of his birth or the day he became yours.

4. Let him be your special helper. Let him help clean the bathrooms with you. Or fold laundry with you (yes, I realize it won’t be folded precisely the way you like it, but what’s more important?)

5. Affirm him, encourage him, hug him, kiss him, and pray for him.

And here’s a few ways I am putting these into practice.

Sweet Cheeks is helping me finish sweeping the house. Quality time as she gabs to me.

(Love Language) Sweet Cheeks is helping me finish sweeping the house. Quality time as she gabs to me.

3 years ago, I was blessed with being at the birth of our second son, Hallmark.

(Sharing birth story and pictures of one of the happiest days of my life) 3 years ago, I was blessed with being at the birth of our second son, Hallmark.

(My Helper for the afternoon)

(My Helper for the afternoon) Look out, Hallmark is the King of the bathroom cleaner spray bottle! He’s always ready to help me.

Affirmation & Encouragement

(Affirmation and Encouragement) Third is ecstatic after his discovery that he can add multiple Lego heads on top of each other.

Leave a Reply

